Recap of NFL honors awards ceremony



The NFL held their 11th annual NFL honors awards ceremony in Los Angeles, California.

Carter Ericson, Staff Writer

On Feb. 10, 2022, the NFL held its 11th annual honors awards ceremony, which was held at the Youtube Theater in Los Angeles, California. This event was hosted by comedian Keegan-Micheal-Key.

The first award given was for the Offensive Rookie of the Year. The winner was Cincinnati Bengals’ wide receiver Ja’Marr Chase. Chase was a vital part of the Bengals offensive success this past season. In his 17 games, he caught 81 passes for 1,455 yards and 13 touchdowns. Chase established himself as the Bengals primary target and will look to improve on his success next season. 

Dallas Cowboys outside linebacker, Micah Parsons was awarded Defensive Rookie of the Year. Parsons finished the season with 13 sacks, 64 total tackles, three forced fumbles and three passes defended. Parsons was one of the most impactful players in the NFL this year and is a big reason why the cowboys defense improved drastically from last season. 

Another Cincinnati Bengal player was given an award. Quarterback Joe Burrow was awarded the Comeback Player of the Year. Last season, Burrow suffered a torn ACL halfway through his rookie season. Burrow missed the remainder of his rookie year. However, this proved to be just a minor setback as Burrow led the Bengals to a first place divisional finish and a Super Bowl appearance this season. 

After finishing second in voting the season prior, Pittsburgh Steelers edge rusher T.J Watt received the Defensive Player of the Year award. Watt had one of the greatest defensive seasons of all time, tying the NFL’s single season record with 22.5 sacks in just 15 games, while also recording 62 tackles. 

Los Angeles Rams wide receiver, Cooper Kupp, was given the Offensive Player of the Year award. Kupp had a triple crown receiving performance this past season, finishing with 145 receptions, 1947 yards and 16 touchdowns. Kupp led the NFL in all three of these categories. Kupp finished off his legendary season with a Super Bowl win and Super Bowl MVP award. 

Tennessee Titans coach Mike Vrabel was announced as the Head Coach of the Year. Vrabel led the injured and depleted Titans roster to a first place AFC finish. With a fully healthy roster next season, the Titans will be Superbowl favorites as long as Vrabel is coaching. 

The final and most important award is given to the league’s Most Valuable Player. For the second straight season Green Bay Packers quarterback, Aaron Rodgers, received this award. Rodgers finished the season with 37 touchdown passes and a league leading 111.9 passer rating. While also leading the Packers to a first place NFC finish.